I’m angry.


 

 

So I have a bit of a rant today.
I’m angry.
I’m angry about the layoffs at Postmedia.
I’m angry at the fact that hard working and talented writers were let go.
While Postmedia executives are reported to pocket $1 million dollars in bonuses.
I’m angry that these executives are interested in the news they want to hear. Not the news you want to hear.
I’m angry that in an industry where we need and by the way have talent, there are people that can’t find work.

I understand there are business needs. I understand that we are watching the death of the newspaper.

But it is not the death of the of information. We still seek and crave news. And stories. And information.Not just from one perspective. But from several. Not just a headline. But actual content.

There are journalists that want to tell those stories.With words. With pictures. With voices.

I’m angry that Postmedia just told people that they are not interested in that. They are interested in making their model work. Not adapt and support people who have dedicated themselves to their craft.

Yesterday  was a terrible day for journalism good journalism in Canada.

And I’m angry that people like Paul Godfrey took advantage of that.

Leave a Reply

