Agree or Disagree: This Calgary Cab Driver should be fired.


You heard about this story. A Calgary Cab Driver has been suspended because he kicked two men out of his cab for kissing.

You can read the story here.

Now for some, this is not enough. This is such an inexcusable behaviour that he should be fired.

But his perspective, which we haven’t heard until today, is interesting. This is a quote from a story in the Calgary Sun.

People try to have sex in my cab all the time. I tell anyone who is in my cab acting like that, and if they act like that I tell them to stop, and most times people co-operate and they even make fun over it,” the cabbie told the Sun.

“I’m not against people who practice gay sex or who are homosexual, because I’m not a homophobic person — I just ask them not to. There is copy of the video in my car and if you go back a week or two, you’ll come across a man and woman who I told, please don’t do it.

“Two guys come into my cab and they’re making out and so I tell them please stop until I get you to where you are going. People have started out like that, and they end up undressing themselves, until they are naked and about to have sex, and so I have to stop this kind of thing before it gets to that,” he said.

“I only told them to stop until I get them to where they are going.”

Now, I have to ask this. If you were a cab driver or in a situation like this, what would be your threshold? If you are driving over Stampede, or late at night, you may see some things you don’t want too. Yes, the person is the “customer” and some say the “customer” is always right. But, not to get too graphic here, but if A leads to B which leads to C…….there could be some cleanup needed to be done in the cab.Who pays for that? Likely the driver.

My perspective is if it was simply kicking someone out because they kissed, then yes they should be fired. However, we haven’t heard the cab drivers side of the story.And it sounds like from his perspective, he wasn’t sure what was going to happen. We heard on Facebook, “I got kicked out of a cab because we kissed”. We got outraged. But did we hear the other side of the story?

But what do you think? Do you Agree or Disagree should the Cab Driver be fired? Or, should we hear from him first?

One response to “Agree or Disagree: This Calgary Cab Driver should be fired.

Leave a Reply

