My Question: What is the Creation vs Evolution debate REALLY about?


Image

 

 

I used to spend time in some Facebook Forums. There was one in particular that was about the very topic of Creation vs Evolution. 

You probably know how it works. It start with a simple question. People respond. Topic turns into something else.

I was observing a very heated online with a very staunch believer in God and a very staunch atheist. The believer attempted to reason with her with Scripture verses to back up his point. She found the Scripture verses quite laughable and I remember her last comment being this.

“Prove to me there is a God.”

That is where I decided to jump in. I told the lady this.

“I could up with numerous reasons to believe that there is a God. I could lay evidence over evidence that there is one. I could prove it to without a shadow of a doubt to you. The fact is, the existence of God is not your question. The problem you really have is who God is. At some point, you were bothered by a concept of “God” that opened up the idea of questioning who “God” is. The fact is that is the real problem is isn’t it?

She admitted I had a point. She really didn’t get into what that issue was. But there was a part of her that felt that if this “God” existed, then there are some serious questions she has. Perhaps you know them.

If there is a God, then why is there sickness in this world? Why do children in Third World countries have to starve while He sits and watches?

If there is a God, then why wars and terrorist attacks? How can a God sit back and watch as innocent people are killed over a fight for oil! Oil! Or nationalistic pride!

If there is a God, then why did my loved one suffer and die? I prayed for a miracle, and had the “faith the size of the mustard seed” and still………

How can this God you claim exists sit up in the heavens and watch all this evil?

The fact is, that as a believer in God, I don’t have an answer for you. I don’t really know. I mean, I could give you some of the well known Christian answers to this question. I could tell you about a divine plan,or discuss the problem with evil. However, I know from previous conversations, those can do more harm than good.

The honest answer is I really don’t know.

The honest answer is that these questions asked are valid questions. They are questions that in one form or another, were asked by people in the Bible. People like Job, David and even Jesus.

The problem is that in many people’s eyes, these questions haven’t been given a proper recognition. And that has caused some major hurt. I do recognize that many have sincerely attempted to answer that question and people have come up with resolution. But when one simplifies a major question with a simple answer, quite frankly it is belittling. When people like Ken Ham use a simple answer like because the Bible says so, it invalidates the person asking the question. When people like Richard Dawkins are flippant about people’s faith, it is belittling to those that believe strongly.

So while many are interested in a 2 hour and 45 minute debate on Creation vs Evolution, I don’t think this is really about that question. It is a fascinating and intellectual question,  but it’s the surface question.  

The real question being asked is about how, or if  there is an all knowing, all powerful God, god or “god”. If one exists, what part does that play in our world and what is God or god like?

I close this with a video from Rob Bell.  You may remember it, but I feel it’s relevant.

2 responses to “My Question: What is the Creation vs Evolution debate REALLY about?

  1. “I could up with numerous reasons to believe that there is a God. I could lay evidence over evidence that there is one. I could prove it to without a shadow of a doubt to you”

    I’d like to see that.

Leave a Reply

