Agree or Disagree: It’s my job to feed my neighbour’s child


Agree or Disagree: It’s my job to feed my neighbour’s child

“Is it my job to feed my neighbour’s child? I don’t think so”

James Moore, Industry Minister.

This comment got James Moore in trouble. In the above article, you will read after some denials, it is a comment he had to apologize for.

It is a comment that angered many people. It is a comment that lacked compassion, sensitivity, and understanding. 

It is also a comment that many have said.

Let’s face it. There is a sense of NIMBY(Not In My Back Yard) that crosses our path. How many of us are willing to admit they have walked past a homeless person and ignored them? Why? Perhaps, there is a sense that there are agencies and organizations that will help out the homeless? Unfortunately, it is a habit that is a part of our society.

We can ignore it, but the reality is we do have an issue with child poverty in Canada. According to a group called First Call, one in five children are statistically poor. British Columbia has the highest child poverty rate in Canada. Below, is a report from CBC News discussing this.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/b-c-has-highest-child-poverty-rate-in-canada-report-1.2440909

So, my question to you is this. Is it your or my  job to feed our neighbour’s child?

Leave a Reply

