Agree or Disagree: If someone loves you, they will truly show it


This is a quote I saw and thought I would share

If he’s not calling you, it’s because you are not on his mind. If he creates expectations for you, and then doesn’t follow through on little things, he will do same for big things. Be aware of this and realize that he’s okay with disappointing you. Don’t be with someone who doesn’t do what they say they’re going to do. If he’s choosing not to make a simple effort that would put you at ease and bring harmony to a recurring fight, then he doesn’t respect your feelings and needs. “Busy” is another word for “asshole.” “Asshole” is another word for the guy you’re dating. You deserve a fcking phone call.” 
― Greg Behrendt

I suspect that part of the reason he shared it is because it happens a lot.  Anyone falls for someone  expectation , or maybe hope happens. Person doesn’t go through with what they say. Maybe you let it go once because you want to be forgiving. 

But it happens again and again and again. You might end wondering what is wrong with you. Maybe you blame yourself and question your self-worth.

Can you relate to this?

2 responses to “Agree or Disagree: If someone loves you, they will truly show it

  1. I agree, with one caveat: sometimes people don’t *know* what little things are important to us.

    Example: I am not a phone caller. I’m just not. I’d much rather text or email if I can’t talk to you face to face. If someone calls me and leaves me a message, I text them back unless they specifically say they want me to *call* them. I wouldn’t even think about the fact that my significant other might like to get a phone call from me. If he told me it was important, then obviously I’d make an effort to call him… but I wouldn’t know if he didn’t tell me, and he could be mad at me and think I’m insensitive and I’d have no idea.

    Due to the phrase “recurring fight” in the quote, I’m assuming there was some context that was lost (that she’s brought it up and he’s deliberately ignored it, which, yes, makes him a jerk). But since that context isn’t present in this post, I wanted to mention it, because I KNOW girls who get really irked when their guy doesn’t do what they want and turns out they’ve never told him it’s important to them. They just assume he’ll call and give flowers and chocolate and share what’s on his mind. It’s not fair to complain about something you haven’t tried to actually solve with communication yet.

    • I agree with you. Part of the problem is both guys and girls at times hope that potential or significant others to read their minds. Or there is also at times comparison to exes which happens a lot.

      I’m like you, I’m texter. I can talk on the phone, but I tend to text more.

      Good comments.

Leave a Reply

