Agree or Disagree


Agree or Disagree: You believe the news you read or watch is objective.

And..

The Blogosphere and Citizen Journalism has had a negative impact on news reporting

2 responses to “Agree or Disagree

  1. It depends on the newscaster. I find that what is called “news” now days is really just an op ed piece. I generally just ignore anything that comes from Sun Media because of that. I find that they have a very biased slant to anything that is political.

  2. Disagree. I could state the numerous obvious examples (I’ve got my Fox News diatribe all locked and loaded) but instead I’m going to quote the late Dr. Hunter S. Thompson, who said it better than I ever could:

    “So much for Objective Journalism. Don’t bother to look for it here — not under any byline of mine; or anyone else I can think of. With the possible exception of things like box scores, race results, and stock market tabulations, there is no such thing as Objective Journalism. The phrase itself is a pompous contradiction in terms.”

    I believe that the “blogosphere” and citizen journalism are just as biased but at least there tends to be a wider range of bias, from the radical left to the reactionary right and to my way of thinking this is a good thing. More ideas and more viewpoints means a more complete picture of what is *actually* happening.

Leave a Reply

