Agree or Disagree: We need more LGBT exclusive homeless shelters


Do we need more LGBT exclusive homeless shelters?

I hope you had the opportunity to listen to the Agree or Disagree: The Podcast interviewing Terry Lo and I had with Kelly Hofer. He describes himself as the Gay Hutterite Activist. You can hear the conversation here.

http://www.spreaker.com/user/7021827/the-story-of-kelly-hofer

When I was thinking about this interview, I did some thinking on a few things. One if the things was the issue of homelessness.In the above CBC article, it is estimated that 25-40% of youth homeless identify themselves as LGBT. I posted a question on this topic on Facebook yesterday. We had a good discussion about it.

The other thing I was thinking about was an article from Rolling Stone.it discusses the rise in the amount LGBT teens being homeless because they were disconnected from a religious family. You can read that below.

http://www.rollingstone.com/culture/features/the-forsaken-a-rising-number-of-homeless-gay-teens-are-being-cast-out-by-religious-families-20140903?page=2&utm_content=bufferf47fa&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

There is a lot of information here, but it leads to the question. Do we need more exclusive LGBT exclusive homeless shelters? Do we have the resources to provide the specific needs around this? Or, are homeless shelters currently able to provide this now?

One response to “Agree or Disagree: We need more LGBT exclusive homeless shelters

  1. What?! ummm no. Why? I’m pretty sure sexual activity is not allowed in the shelters. Obviously I’m not LGBT but if we had separate shelters wouldn’t that be considered ‘segregation’? Am I the only one who thinks they are just plain people just like you and me?

Leave a comment